Members of the Sea Scouts, Alameda Council rescued a missing distressed kayaker in San Francisco Bay near Pittsburg on July 20.
The Sea Scouts, a branch of the Boy Scouts of America, were going on a scouting cruise on their Sea Scout Ship No. 9 Sea Fox from Hunter’s Point in San Francisco to Pittsburg in the early morning hours of Friday, July 20.
Last Saturday, the Alameda Recreation and Parks Department (ARPD) sponsored Alameda Walks program strolled through both history and current events. The all-ages group learned about the Mastick family and famed architects Felix Marcuse and Julius Remmel who helped shape the Island City. Myself and Alameda Sun co-publisher Dennis Evanosky (far left) led the tour with help from ARPD’s Karen Kenney and Jackie Krause of the Mastick Senior Center. Toward the end, the tour stopped by the recently completed mural at 1128 Lincoln Ave.
About 75 people attended the first public tours of the City of Alameda’s newest park, the 21st in the Alameda Recreation and Park Department (ARPD), Jean Sweeney Park, last Saturday. Another tour is set for today from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m.
Tours gather at the park entrance on Sherman Street. Both tours explore how the construction is progressing. The park is expected to officially open in October or November. Recreation and Parks Director, Amy Wooldridge, leads the tours and share points of interest.
Perched atop the Ferris wheel at last weekend’s Art & Wine Faire on Park Street, Chris Bennett snapped this photo of the festivities. The weekend drew a massive crowd to Downtown Alameda for live music, fair food, rides and other fun. Classic Alameda traditions like dancing to local cover bands and other talent; enjoying a “giant brat;” or browsing an extensive selection of local arts and crafts for sale. Sunday’s Alameda Fire Department Pancake Breakfast also drew hungry families to Fire Station No. 1 to raise funds for the Elisa Ann Ruch Foundation.