Sun Compiles Updated Listing of Places to Volunteer in Alameda

Sun Compiles Updated Listing of Places to Volunteer in Alameda

The Alameda Sun has always respected the Alameda community’s sense of volunteerism. We often receive phone calls asking if Sun staff know of places where people can volunteer their time. In that spirit the Sun has created a volunteer listing, also available online at www.alamedasun.com/volunteer-organizations. To add a business or organization to the list, send an email to jstrahler@alamedasun.com or call 263-1471. 

We would like to thank The City of Alameda and The Alameda Chamber of Commerce for their contributions to the database. 

Volunteer listings are free of charge and include the name, location, contact person, phone, email and website information for the various opportunities.

Alameda Adult Literacy Program, 2203 Central Ave., Sue Mark, 865-2454, alamedareads@alamedaca.gov, www.alamedaca.gov/library/alameda-reads

Alameda Boys & Girls Club, 1900 Third St., Marc Morales, 522-4900 Ext. 108, info@alamedabgc.org, www.alamedabgc.org

Alameda Care Center, 430 Willow St., Margie, 523-8857, 
activities@alamedahc.com, www.alamedahc.com

Alameda Community Emer-gency Response Team (CERT), 1300 Park St., Sharon Oliver, 337-2129, cert@alamedaca.gov, www.alamedacert.org

Alameda Community Sailing Center, 2532 Santa Clara Ave #150, Nancy Hird, 629-9282, info@sailalameda.org, www.sailalameda.org/ACSC/volunteer

Alameda Food Bank, 1900 Thau Way, Lucia Catalano, 523-5850, volunteer@alamedafoodbank.org, www.alamedafoodbank.org

Alameda Free Library, 1550 Oak St., Ken Yuen, 747-7744, kyuen@alamedaca.gov, www.
alamedaca.gov/library

Alameda Friendly Visitors, 1155 Santa Clara Ave., Carol Chamberlin, 748-0342, friendlyvisitors@sbcglobal.net, www.alamedameals onwheels.org/about_afv.html

Alameda Meals on Wheels, P.O. Box 2534, Rosemary Reilly, 865-6131, alamedamow@aol.com, www.alamedamealsonwheels.org

Alameda Museum, 2324 Alameda Ave., Dennis Evanosky, 772-5209, evanosky@gmail.com, www.alamedamuseum.org

Alameda Point Collaborative, 677 W. Ranger Ave., Brandy Muniz, 898-7800 Ext. 1012, volunteer@apcollaborative.org, www.ap
collaborative.org/volunteer

Alameda Unified School District, 2060 Challenger Drive, Cathy Calais, 337-7070 Ext. 0, 
ccalais@alameda.k12.ca.us, www.alameda.k12.ca.us

Bay View Nursing and Rehabilitation, 16 Willow St., Lisa Romero, 521-5600, lisa20romero@gmail.com, www.bayviewnursing.com

Boy Scouts of America, 1714 Everett St., Charles Howard-Gibbon, 522-2772, charles.howard.gibbon@scouting.org, www.bsa-alameda.org

Friends of Alameda Animal Shelter (FAAS), 1590 Fortmann Way, Cindy Shelby, 337-8565, volunteer@alamedaanimalshelter.org www.alamedaanimalshelter.org

Alameda Friends of the Parks Foundation (FOTP), 2226 Santa Clara Ave., William Delaney, 707-7529, bdelaneyca@yahoo.com, www.alamedaparks.org

Frank Bette Center for the Arts, 1601 Paru St., 523-6957, volunteer@frankbettecenter.org, www.frank bettecenter.org/volunteer.html

Girl Scouts of Northern California, Alameda, 1650 Harbor Bay Parkway, Toni Aclero, (800) 447-4475 Ext. 3001, www.girlscoutsnorcal.com, www.alameda girlscouts.org
Girls, Inc. of the Island City, 1724 Santa Clara Ave., Victoria Russell, 521-1743 Ext. 225, 
vrussell@girlsincislandcity.org, www.girlsincislandcity.org

Golden Hour Restoration Institute, 1822 Nason St., Lech Naumovich, 495-5885, lech@golden hour.org, www.goldenhour.org

Island Alliance of the Arts, 3239 Briggs Ave., Bonnie Boller, 865-0541, islandallianceofthearts@gmail.com, www.islandallianceofthearts.org

Kiwanis Club of Alameda, P.O. Box 728, Denise Gasti, 764-1472, alamedakiwanis@gmail.com, www.alamedakiwanis.org

League of Women Voters, P.O. Box 1645, Ruth Dixon-Muller, 865-2439, membership@lwvalameda.org, www.lwvalameda.org

Midway Shelter, 1555 Oak St., Lorie Curtis, 357-0205 Ext. 206, 
lcurtis@bfwc.org, www.midway shelter.org

Pacific Pinball Museum, 1510 Webster St., d’Arci Bruno, (415) 602-4629, 205-6959, dbruno@pacificpinball.org, www.pacificpinball.org

Rhythmix Cultural Works, 2513 Blanding Ave., Laili Gohartaj, 865-5060, laili@rhythmix.org, www.rhythmix.org

The Alameda Chamber of Commerce, 2215-A South Shore Center, Mark Sorensen, 522-0414, www.alamedachamber.com

USS Hornet Museum, 707 W. Hornet Ave., Chuck Conrad, 521-8448 Ext. 243, volunteers@uss-hornet.org, www.uss-hornet.org