St. Joseph to Celebrate Two Athletic Hall of Fame Classes

SJND--The 1964-1965 men’s basketball team will be inducted into the St. Joseph Notre Dame Athletic Hall of Fame.

St. Joseph to Celebrate Two Athletic Hall of Fame Classes

The St. Joseph Notre Dame (SJND) athletic association will be holding two Athletic Hall of Fame induction dinners later this month.

The 2020 Hall of Fame Class induction dinner will be held April 29, while the 2022 induction dinner will be held April 30. Both events will be held at 6 p.m. at the Kelly Gymnasium on the SJND campus.

The 2020 class induction was postponed due to the COVID-19.

The 2020 class includes 1964-1965 men’s basketball team; Chris Aria (tennis) class of 2008; Dan Curry, (posthumously) former Athletic Director and Supporter; Phoebe Grunt (women’s volleyball) class of 2013; Alex Harris (men’s basketball) class of 2004; Joe Nelson, (baseball) class of 1993; Jennifer Redecke-Noble (women’s swimming) class of 2002; Ken Rodrigues, supporter; and Josh Hammer, master of ceremony.

The 2022 class includes the 1971 men’s golf team; Anne Luna, (women’s golf) class of 2003; Tomas Pineda, supporter; Peter Piombo (baseball), posthumously, class of 1963; Cooper Teare (track & field and cross country) class of 2017; Ray Young (men’s basketball) class of 1998; and Robert Butler, master of ceremony.

The SJND Hall of Fame was created in 1994 to recognize and honor SJND student athletes, coaches, teams, and benefactors that have contributed to the rich athletic traditions at SJND.

Student athletes and coaches become eligible when they are nominated five years after they were associated with SJND athletics.

SJND is located at 1101 Chestnut St. For more information, visit