President’s First Round

President’s First Round


Members of the Alameda Women’s Golf Club took part in the first round of the 65th annual President’s Cup last Thursday, June 8, on the Earl Fry Course. The President’s Cup is played under net tournament rules where the golfer with the lowest net wins regardless of flight division. Scores from all three rounds are accumulated to declare the tournament winner.

The top three golfers each came from a different flight. Sherry Westernoff leads the pack after the first round after she shot a net 66 from the second flight — handicap of 25 to 29. Westernoff holds a two-stroke lead over second-place finisher Ruby Soo who shot a net 68 from the third flight — handicap of 30 to 40.

Madeline Sally is currently in third place with a net 69. She competed in the first flight — handicap of 11 to 23. Tai Chewpanich is fourth after round one in the President’s Cup after posting a net 70 from the first flight. Chewpanich, along with fellow first flight golfer Valarie Buscher, had the lowest gross score of the day with an overall 82.

Buscher and three other golfers are tied for fifth place with matching net 71s. Dot Moody (first flight), Debbie Adams (second flight) and Kay Park (third flight) are the others with net 71s. Moody was last year’s winner. She represented Alameda in the 2016 Bay Area Club Champions’ Tournament held at Poppy Ridge earlier this year, and she won first place.

There was still flight competitions in the event. Claire Loud posted a net 73 to round out the top five in first flight after Sally, Chewpanich, Moody and Buscher. Maggie Lindquist and Bernice Herzberg are tied for sixth place with net 74s.

Barbara Mickle shot a net 73 to place third in the second flight. Alice Wong and Sonia Kwak tied for fourth place in the second flight with net 78s.

Diane Hughes shot a net 75 for third place in the third flight. Pam Curtis posted a net 76 for fourth place, while Bobbie Hoepner shot a net 77 to round out the top five of the flight.
Twenty-five golfers competed in the tournament. Round two will take place today at the Fry Course.