Outstanding Students Receive Awards

Wyman Yee The awardees posed with Councilmember Tony Daysog; UPA officers Janet Galera, Rufina Mejia and Norma de la Cruz; and keynote speaker Jocelyn Surla Banaria.


On Sunday, July 10, the United Pilipinos of Alameda (UPA) held its 42nd annual Outstanding Student of Filipino Ancestry Awards Ceremony at the Harbor Bay Community Center. Each year, public and private schools in Alameda nominate deserving students to win this award based on their academic achievement, character and leadership abilities. On top of honoring the students, it is also an opportunity for the UPA and the community to publicly acknowledge the important role of parents and share in their pride and sense of accomplishment.

This year’s winners are: Keira Barot, Earhart Elementary; Malia Layag, Edison Elementary; Eva Lozeau de Guzman and Jennifer Tuason, Franklin Elementary; Joshua Estrada, Haight Elementary; Rafael Acevado, Lum Elementary; Katherine Bautista, Maya Lin Elementary; Gabriel Pagal, Otis Elementary; Sheryl Bada, Paden Elementary; Jesse R. Fernandez, Ruby Bridges Elementary; Jacob Tamor, St. Joseph Elementary; Elise Feliciano, St. Philip Neri Elementary; Lavernne Quilatan, Lincoln Middle; Almira Anjem Ilagan, Wood Middle; Juliana Yee, Alameda High; Leanne Ebalang, Alameda Science & Technology Institute; Rheymart Balance, Encinal High; Precious Rey Alcontin, Island High; and Isabel Reyes, St. Joseph Notre Dame.