New Alameda Museum Board Sworn In

From left to right: Mayor Trish Spencer swears in new Alameda Museum board members: Board President Dennis Evanosky, Vice President Johanna Hall, Adam Gillitt, Jim Smallman, Secretary Valerie Turpen, Adam Koltun, Charlie Howell, Treasurer Bob Risley and Evelyn Kennedy. Not pictured: new director Robin Seeley.

Each year the Alameda Museum hosts a luncheon fundraiser that includes the official appointment of the museum board of directors.

The luncheon was well attended, with Mayor Trish Spencer on hand to swear in the new officers. More than 90 museum members, docents and volunteers attended the delicious meal held on the fourth floor of the Masonic Hall.

Among the changes to the board this year is the appointment of Alameda Sun co-publisher and historian Dennis Evanosky to the position of president and local graphic designer Valerie Turpen to the position of Secretary.

Attendees were treated to a poem written and read by the city’s Poet Laureate, Julia Park Tracey.

Former board presidents Diane Coler-Dark and Robbie Dileo, along with long-time volunteers Lisa Koltun and Debra Hilding, and the staff at the Masonic Hall, helped ensure the event ran smoothly. Joanne McKay provided table decorations and centerpieces.

The Alameda Museum operates out of the ground floor of the Masonic Hall located at 2324 Alameda Ave. Find out more at