Mickle Narrowly Wins Prez Cup

Bobbie Hoepner    Barbara Mickle celebrates after winning the 66th President’s Cup by just one stroke over two golfers Thursday, June 21.

Barbara Mickle fought off multiple challengers to win the Alameda Women’s Golf Club’s 66th annual President’s Cup Thursday, June 21, on the Earl Fry Course.

Mickle finished with a one-stroke lead over Angie Vaccarezza and Sarah Valentine to win the tournament. Mickle shot an overall net 206 in the three-round tournament. She posted a net 69 in the final round. Vaccarezza and Valentine tied for second place with net 207s. Vaccarezza shot a net 69 in the final round, while Valentine posted a net 68 in the third round.

Kay Park finished fourth overall with a net 212. Sonia Kwak and Alice Wong each posted net 214s to tie for fifth overall in the tournament. Kwak shot the lowest net score of round three with a net 66.

Mickle (70-67-69), Kwak (82-66-66) and Wong (70-72-72) all competed in the second flight among golfers with a handicap of 25 to 29. Pat O’Hara (75-77-70) posted a net 222 in the flight for fourth place. Diane Hughes (78-72-77) and Susan Yoon (72-79-76) both shot net 227s for a tie of fifth place.

Vaccarezza (68-70-69) and Park (74-66-72) finished one and two in the fourth flight among golfers with a 36 to 40 handicap. Bobbie Hoepner (86-77-73) shot an overall net 236 for third place. Lynette Mladinich (82-86-75) shot a net 243 for third place in the flight.

Valentine (63-77-68) won the first flight — handicap of 11 to 23. Madeline Sally (71-72-72) posted a net 215 for second place. Claire Loud (73-73-71) shot a net 217 for third place. Tai Chewpanich (72-73-78) shot a net 223 for fourth place, while Debbie Adams (78-76-77) shot a net 231 to round out the top five in the flight.

Janet Rhee (72-75-77) shot a net 224 in the third flight. Louise Eilhardt (82-74-73) was a couple of strokes behind her at net 229. Janet Kirk (79-80-79) shot a net 238 for third place in the flight. Linda Ferrill (82-74-84) shot a net 240 in the tournament for fourth place.

O’Hara won the closest-to-the-hole competition on the fourth hole. Her ball landed 2’ 4” from the pin after two attempts. Hoepner won the competition on the 15th hole when her attempt landed 9’ 3” from the pin.