Kiwanis Club of Alameda Members, Mayor Laud Hope of America Winners

Courtesy of Al Wright, Raintree Studios

On May 15, outstanding Alameda eighth-graders from seven local schools received Hope of America awards from the Alameda Kiwanis Club. The students were nominated by their teachers and selected by Kiwanis for exceptional leadership, community spirit, character, academics and inspiration to their peers. From left to right, they are: Abhinav Peddada, Academy of Alameda; Nairobi Taylor, Academy of Alameda; Matthew Hildreth, Lincoln Middle School; Chelsea Wee, Wood Middle School; Jaden Smith, Bay Farm School; Mia Furuichi Fong, Encinal Junior High School; Mia Holley, St. Joseph’s Elementary School and Sarah Lisanti, St. Philip Neri School. Kiwanis President Jeramie Andehueson, far left, and Mayor Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, far right, presented the awards.