Hornets Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Set


The second annual Alameda High School (AHS) Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is scheduled for Saturday, June 9, at the Alameda Elks Lodge. The AHS Hall of Fame Committee will be inducting 10 more athletes that achieved great athletic feats while sporting the black-and-gold AHS colors.  

Eddie Fry, class of 1943, was the top-ranked junior golfer in the United States during the early 1940s. He won the Alameda Commuters while a student at AHS. At age 18 he enlisted in the Army and was tragically killed in action in 1944.

Dave Haber, class of 1974, holds two school records in track-and-field set in 1974. His high jump of 6’ 10” and triple jump of 47’ 4” were in the top 20 nationally that year. 

Dorothy Head, class of 1942, was a state and national under-18 champion in tennis while attending AHS. Head won the U.S. Women’s Clay Court Championships in 1951, 1955, 1958 and 1960. 

Jim LeMoine, class of 1963, was an All-League and All-Northern California football player in 1962. LeMoine led the Hornets to a perfect 9-0 record and the number one ranking in Northern California. Jim was picked in the second round of the NFL draft by the Buffalo Bills in 1967. 

Linda Read, class of 1979, was a three-time state meet qualifier in the discus (1977-79) and a two-time North Coast Section champion (1978-79). She placed second in the discus in the California state track meet in 1979. Read still holds the AHS record in the discus with 150’ 2”. 

Mikhaila Rutherford, class of 2006, was a record-setting swimmer in International Paralympics competition. In 2002, she set a world record and won gold in the 100 backstroke. She repeated as the gold medal winner in 2004. 

Chris Speier, class of 1968, was the second player selected in the 1970 Major League Baseball draft, starting a 19-year career (1971-1989) in Major League Baseball. He was a three-time National League All-star shortstop (1972-74) for the San Francisco Giants. 

Andrea (Thieme) Jorgenson, class of 1995, won the Alameda Contra Costa Athletic League scoring champion in basketball three times. She was a two-time Alameda Prep Athlete of the Year and the Alameda Times Star prep of the year in 1995. Jorgenson still holds the school records in career scoring and steals. 

Thai Tu, class of 2008, was a four-time NCS champion in tennis (two singles and two doubles). He was the 2008 Alameda Journal Athlete of the Year. 

Alan Weeden, class of 1941, was a four-time County and NCS Swimming Champion in the 100 Backstroke (1938-1941) while at AHS. 

The ceremony begins at 5:30 p.m. Tickets cost $60 in advance and $80 at the door. Tickets for children 10 and under cost $40. The Alameda Elks Lodge is located at 2255 Santa Clara Ave. 
For more information, contact Brad Thomas at coachbt@comcast.net.