Five Locals Earn Scouts’ Highest Honor

Courtesy photo. Alameda Boy Scouts (from left to right) Christopher Gardner, Kendric Murphy, Miles Orozco, Owen Taffe and Connor Waterloo received Eagle Scout awards during a recent Boy Scouts of America National Court of Honor.

Five Alameda Boy Scouts recently received their Eagle Scout awards. 

The scouts each committed to several years of work, earning at least 21 merit badges, serving in multiple leadership positions, as well as planning and implementing community service projects to earn Scouting’s highest achievement.

Their Eagle Scout service projects collectively amassed hundreds of hours of planning, leadership and community service and benefitted local campuses, non-profits and more. The Scouts are members of Boy Scout Troop 89, which was chartered by Oakland Machine Works and meets at Franklin School on Tuesday evenings. Boy Scout Troop 89 has produced more than 100 Eagle Scouts since 1967.