Downtown Businesses Honored

Shalynn Taylor &nbsp&nbsp Left to right, President of the Downtown Alameda Business Association (DABA), Donna Layburn of the Marketplace; Retailer of the Year, Melanie Knight of Books, Inc.; DABA Executive Director Janet Magleby and DABA Board Member Jennifer Serr of The Sewing Room who presented Knight with the award last Thursday.

Downtown Businesses Honored

The Downtown Alameda Business Association (DABA) held its annual holiday party and business awards ceremony for its members on Dec. 7 at the Elks Lodge. The event was hosted by the DABA’s Executive Director Janet Magleby and the association’s Membership Committee: Jennifer Serr (Chairperson), Jone Stebbins, Jessica Lindsay, Jane Watson, Cynthia Schorle, Sara Edge, Stephanie Prothero, and Shalynn Taylor. 

The affair was catered by Alameda’s Best Catering with lively entertainment from the Island City’s own Ukemamas. In attendance were the Honorable Mayor Trish Spencer, Councilmember Marilyn Ezzy Ashcraft, City Manager Jill Keimach, Fire Chief Edmond Rodriguez, as well as many other notable guests including DABA’s Board of Directors and other committee chairs and city officials. The event benefited the Alameda Food Bank and Downtown Alameda’s Clean, Green & Safe Fund.

The awards were handed out in multiple categories including:
• Retailer of the Year: Books, Inc., Melanie Knight
• Culinary Business of the Year: Habanas Cuban Cuisine, Jason Tsang
• Professional Business of the Year: Studio 23, Jessica and Wes Warren
• Best New Business: Phoenix, Benjamin & Saskia Winter
• Member of the Year: Duane Watson, Lee Auto Supply
• City of Alameda Person of the Year: Eric Fonstein

Magleby gave special recognition to member Joe LoParo of ReMax Tribute and DABA staff members Shalynn Taylor and Dr. Kendra Holloway. The organization’s president recognized DABA’s Stephanie Prothero and Alameda Theatre & Cinema Grill’s Kyle Conner and Allison Shannon for special honors.

DABA also recognized its members that have been in business for more than 20 years including: Kate Pryor & David Lee of Tucker’s Supercreamed Ice Cream, Debbie George of Bonne Vie, Dr. Dale Wright of Alameda Podiatry Group, Duane Watson of Lee Auto Supply, Louise Reed of West Advertising, Mahesh and Pallabi of Park Jewelers and Pauline Kelly of Pauline’s Antiques.