Club Hosts 88th Championship

Club Hosts 88th Championship

Stephanie Bellato is atop the leaderboard of the Alameda Women’s Golf Club’s 88th Club Championship after the second round Thursday, Sept. 19 on the Jack Clark Course. 

Bellato posted an overall gross 86 in the second round. The Club Championship uses gross scoring, instead of net scoring, to determine the winner. Bellato shot an 83 in the first round to bring her total score to 169. She is five shots ahead of Tai Chewpanich who sits in second place. She posted an 84 in the first round on Sept. 12 and a 90 in the second round. Kari Vadnais is in third place with a 179 (87-92).

The tournament still had a flight competition. The flight competition also used gross scoring, but put players in flights determined by their personal handicaps. Dot Moody leads the first flight — handicap of 20 to 25 — with a 195 (95-100). Debbie Adams and Claire Loud are tied for second with 204s. Both players shot a 103 in the first round and 101 in the second. Sonia Kwak and Madeline Sally are tied for fourth place with 206s. Kwak shot a 105 in the first and 101 in the second, while Sally shot a 99 in the first and 106 in the second.

Barbara Mickle leads the second flight — handicap of 29 to 32 — with a 208. She shot a 98 in the first round and 110 in the second. Louise Eilhardt is in second place with a 210(105-105). Susan Yoon is in third with a 215 (105-110). Susan Logan is behind her at 237 (114-123). Janet Rhee round out the top five with a 240 (125-115).

Sandi Kaney is atop the third flight — handicap of 33 to 34 — with a 217 (106-111). Jean Cho is nine strokes back at 226 (109-117). Diane Hughes is one back of Cho at 227 (112-115). Vivian Kang posted a 233 (118-115) after two rounds for fourth place.

Bobbie Hoepner leads the fourth flight — handicap of 35 to 37 — with a 231 (118-113). Kay Park is three strokes behind at 234 (119-115). Lynette Mladinich rounded out the top three with a 242 (117-125) after two rounds.

Twenty-six golfers competed in the tournament. The final round takes place today on the Jack Clark Course.