Alameda News

Name strikes chord with Black Lives Matter movement across country

Calls have surfaced in Alameda to rename Calhoun Street. This is part of a nationwide effort to remove street names that honor people tainted with racism. 
William Worthington Chipman and Gideon Aughinbaugh established the Town of Alameda in 1854. They named the first three streets from south to north for men that history recalls as the Triumvirate: Henry Clay, John C. Calhoun and Daniel Webster.

At 2:40 a.m., Thursday, June 19, California Highway Patrol made an enforcement stop on a white Dodge Caravan speeding along westbound Interstate 80 near Leisure Town Road in Vacaville. They cited the 23-year-old driver, an Alameda resident, for driving more than 100 mph while traveling with two unrestrained young children and about 500 pounds of illegal fireworks. CHP stated that the fireworks were in plain sight. The officers called the Vacaville Fire Department to assist them with disposing of the illegal items.

On May 19, the City Council approved a multi-pronged Commercial Streets Program to streamline the permit approval process for expanding dining and retail to parklets and sidewalks. Last Friday many Alameda businesses and restaurants began reopening. 

Maya Lin School second- and third-grade teacher Brian Dodson was named the Alameda Unified School District (AUSD) 2020 Teacher of the Year.

The recognition was announced Wednesday, June 16. Dodson, has been a teacher with AUSD for eight years. He received his bachelor’s degree in Psychology and Communication Studies from UC Davis and his teaching credential from California State University, East Bay. 

He completed his student teaching at Maya Lin School before being hired full time.

Dobson was quick to acknowledge his colleagues while accepting the award.

Alameda Science & Technology Institute
Allan Ballesteros, Clarisse Joan Bayani, Joaquin Carlos Bayani, Julian Bolortoli, Jay Bond, Ellis Brandt, Gabrielle Cassaro, Anna Chen, Christopher Cheung, Sabrina Christensen, Molly Clem, Kate Crawford, Nataly Currid, Kadin Diec, Safwan Dobashi, Liang Goh, Shannen Graham Howard, Olivia Harrison.