87th Commuters Kicks Off This Weekend

87th Commuters Kicks Off This Weekend


After a long year, the Chuck Corica Golf Complex will once again play host to one of the premier amateur golfing events in the country.

The 87th Annual Commuters Golf Tournament will kick off this Saturday, April 26. The tournament will take place over two weekends with the first two rounds played on April 26 and 27 and the last two rounds on May 3 and 4. The “Commuters” as it is fondly called has been played every April on the Bay Farm links since its inception in 1928. This year’s event is due to host a whopping 208 of the best amateur golfers in Northern California. 

All the pairings have been made and can be viewed in the golf shop and online at alamedacommuters.org. Included in the field this year: five-time Commuters Champion Rick Reinsberg, Santa Clara University sophomore and Alameda Jr. Golf Club members, Carlos Briones, and University of Pacific golfer Jamie Looper. 

Many of Alameda’s best players will participate this year including Mike Maurice and Mike Schmitz, and AHS star David Na, brother of Pepperdine All-American, Grace Na. Also scheduled are collegiate players from UC Berkeley, St Mary’s. CSUEB, SJSU and Holy Names. 

Once again the Commuters will be without a defending champion as 2013 winner Pace Johnson will not be on hand this year to defend his title. Johnson will be competing with 2012 winner Michael Weaver and the Cal Golf team in the Pac-12 championships. 

On May 3 and 4, the 27th annual Commuter’s senior championship will be held at the Chuck Corica Golf Complex, along with the final two rounds of the Commuters Tournament. Fifty-two of the best senior amateurs will compete over 36 holes for the coveted Commuters title including 2013 champion Gary Vanier. Local Alameda favorites participating include: Mark Merrigan, Bruce Zuliaca, Dave Nauman and Jay Guerin. 

The Alameda Commuters Committee and Greenway Golf will produce the event. For more information on the Alameda Commuters, log onto alamedacommuters.org.